What Is Heart Failure?




Any heart failure diagnosis is cause for concern, but did you know that there are actually different levels of heart failure?

Depending on its severity, your doctor is able to classify your symptoms of heart failure in order to provide the best treatment for your needs.

RELATED: Managing Heart Failure With A Healthy Lifestyle

Never Miss a Beat!

Get Healthy Tips Sent to Your Phone!

Message and data rates may apply. Text the word STOP to opt out and HELP for help. Click here to view the privacy and terms.

Heart Failure Classifications

The New York Heart Association developed the different classifications for heart failure to help doctors make treatment decisions based upon the symptoms and restrictions on physical activity you exhibit.

Class One Heart Failure

If your doctor assigns you to the first category, you have few limitations on physical activity. Whether you exercise regularly, play a sport, or are constantly on the go, there are no outward signs of heart problems. You do not experience fatigue, shortness of breath, or a rapid heartbeat.

Class Two Heart Failure

If you fall into this class, you may begin to experience the symptoms previously described, such as fatigue and heart palpitations, as your activity levels increase. You may not be able to participate as fully in your normal activities. These symptoms of heart failure, however, are not present while your body is at rest.

Class Three Heart Failure

Under the third classification of heart failure, your heart problems become increasingly apparent.

Your activity is significantly limited, and you experience shortness of breath and fatigue on a regular basis — and not just while performing increased physical activity. The only time you are able to find comfort is while you are resting.

Class Four Heart Failure

The fourth and final classification of heart failure is the most severe.

Even while you lie down or are at rest, symptoms persist. Any sort of activity causes a flare in symptoms and discomfort, creating a lifestyle that involves a complete limitation of physical activity.

Learn more about heart failure with this infographic

Next Steps in Your Treatment for Heart Failure

In addition to classifying the severity of heart failure based upon symptoms, physicians also refer to four different stages of heart failure to complete a comprehensive heart health evaluation. The stages are based on how quickly your symptoms of heart failure progress and develop over time.

Your doctor will determine your class of heart failure and appropriate treatment.

If you are experiencing shortness of breath, fatigue, or a rapid heart rate on a frequent basis, make an appointment with the UPMC Heart and Vascular Institute or visit one of our heart screening events in Pittsburgh for an evaluation.

Source: http://www.upmc.com/patients-visitors/education/cardiology/pages/heart-failure-what-happens-body.aspx

About Heart and Vascular Institute

The UPMC Heart and Vascular Institute has long been a leader in cardiovascular care, with a rich history in clinical research and innovation. As one of the first heart transplant centers in the country and as the developer of one of the first heart-assist devices, UPMC has contributed to advancing the field of cardiovascular medicine. We strive to provide the most advanced, cutting-edge care for our patients, treating both common and complex conditions. We also offer services that seek to improve the health of our communities, including heart screenings, free clinics, and heart health education. Find an expert near you.